top of page
  • Writer's pictureGarrett Wheeler

Mini-Movie Reviews #2: 2018 Recap (continued)



Welcome to the second edition of Mini-Movie Reviews, the series where I briefly talk about movies I saw but didn't have the time to review, movies I saw but didn't have enough of an opinion to review, or movies from the past I want to talk about. If you want to read the last edition, click here. Otherwise, here we go!


Produced by Columbia Pictures, Sutdio 8, and The Picture Company. Distributed by Sony Pictures Releasing. Directed by Albert Hughes.

Alpha

Release Date: August 17

Starring: Kodi Smit-McPhee

Score: 7/10 (Good)


This movie definitely grew on me as I watched it. This is a gorgeous movie, with some of the best cinematography I've seen all year. The colors pop and the framing is expertly crafted, giving my favorite visual feast since Blade Runner 2049. The performances are solid and the bond between the main character and the wolf was great to watch. Seeing them learn from each other and grow together throughout the course of their journey made the film endearing from start to finish. Sometimes, the editing choices are inconsistent, and the story is a little too familiar. It's told well, but there aren't a lot of surprises until the very end. However, what prevented this movie from being great was its pacing. It's rather slow, to the point where the movie would bore me in places. There are a lot of sequences of not much happening, and it can get tedious. However, the beautiful visuals helped ease the pain. I still ended up enjoying this film for the most part. It reminded me of a tamer version of The Revenant. If a movie like this sounds interesting to you, I'd suggest you check it out. It won't be for everybody, but I think it's worth watching at least once; especially if you like dogs.


Produced by Warner Bros. Pictures, Gravity Pictures, Flagship Entertainment, Apelles Entertainment, Di Bonaventura Pictures, and Maeday Productions. Distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures. Directed by Jon Turteltaub.

The Meg

Release Date: August 10

Starring: Jason Statham, Li Bingbing, Rainn Wilson, Ruby Rose, Winston Chao, and Cliff Curtis

Score: 5/10 (Average)


I went into this movie expecting a stupid yet mildly enjoyable movie about sharks, and that's exactly what I got. The performances are okay, the story is okay, the special effects are okay... almost every aspect of this movie is okay. The scenes involving the shark were a lot of fun to watch, especially near the end of the film, but I wish I got more of them. The characters were paper thin, but who cares when you have giant sharks? The biggest problem with The Meg is its tone. There are scenes that try to be corny and funny, yet there are also scenes of intense drama with intense exchanges between characters. The film never strikes a balance between the two, and the tone suffers harshly as a result. It's almost as if The Meg doesn't know what it once to be. But nevertheless, if you want a big dumb action movie with dumb characters and dumb "shark against man" battles, then I think you'll enjoy it. It's fine for what it is, but it won't be something I ever plan on coming back to.


Produced by Blumhouse Productions, Monkeypaw Productions, QC Entertainment, 40 Acres and a Mule Filmworks, Legendary Entertainment, and Perfect World Pictures. Distributed by Focus Features. Directed by Spike Lee.

BlacKkKlansman

Release Date: August 10

Starring: John David Washington, Adam Driver, Laura Harrier, and Topher Grace

Score: 7/10 (Good)


BlacKkKlansman is really good, but I don't see myself watching it again. It's very well written, the acting is great, and the concept itself is fascinating. This movie was enthralling to watch throughout, and it had amazingly real tensity. Some of the things that are said are truly awful and made me uneasy, but I know that's what the movie was going for, and it did it masterfully. There are times when the pacing starts to suffer, the tone is inconsistent, and the ending is WAY too heavyhanded with its political commentary, but overall, I thought BlacKkKlansman was quite entertaining. It's tough to watch at points, which is why I don't think I'll come back to it, but it's so hilarious and entertaining at others. While there isn't much of a balance between the two mood swings, they're both handled well. I think this is one of those movies that everyone should see. Even though I didn't love it, I certainly did like it, and I definitely suggest you check it out.


Produced by SpectreVision, Umedia, Legion M, and XYZ Films. Distributed by RLJE Films. Directed by Panos Cosmatos.

Mandy

Release Date: September 14

Starring: Nicholas Cage and Andrea Riseborough

Score: 8/10 (Great)


Mandy is easily the weirdest movie I've seen all year. The story, visuals, and structure are all executed in such a bizarre way. However, I was thoroughly impressed by it. The performances are fantastic, the use of color is mesmerizing, and while the story seems like it's going nowhere at first, it leads to a strange, trippy, and satisfying climax. The film is deliberately slow, but I was gripped from start to finish. There were moments when the dialogue was cheesy and the editing was questionable, and there were a few moments of unintentional hilarity (mainly involving Nicholas Cage), but other than that, Mandy was a genuinely great movie. This film is not for everyone. Some people will find it either too slow or too weird. However, if you want to see a strange, brutal, and artistic movie, then I'd suggest you check it out.


Produced by Goddard Textiles and TSG Entertainment. Distributed by 20th Century Fox. Directed by Drew Goddard.

Bad Times at the El Royale

Release Date: October 12

Starring: Jeff Bridges, Cynthia Erivo, Dakota Johnson, Jon Hamm, Cailee Spaeny, Lewis Pullman, and Chris Hemsworth

Score: 8/10 (Great)


While it's by no means a perfect film, Bad Times at the El Royale is one of my personal favorites of the year. The story is told in such a clever way, with a structure that seems random, but is very well thought out. I like how we get to see certain moments of the story from the perspective of different characters. It made for a fun plot. The mystery that the film tells is gripping, and the characters are highly captivating, backed by fantastic performances all around. Each person is distinct and entertaining, and a lot of them are quite sympathetic, even if they are not necessarily the nicest people around. Beyond that, the cinematography is gorgeous, and the design of the hotel is some of the best production design I've seen all year. It has such a unique, sleek, and beautiful look, and the division between California and Nevada that splits the hotel in half is a nice touch. As for negatives, the third act starts to drag after a bit. There's an extended scene in the lobby that seems to go on for too long. The ending is a little too sudden, and the director certainly wears his influence of Quentin Tarantino on his sleeve. And, while I love the non-linear storytelling, there are some moments that feel completely out of place and break up the tension in ways that make the film feel disjointed. Despite that, I had a blast with this film and I can't wait to see it again. The film seems to be getting mixed reviews, so I can't guarantee you'll like it, but give it a shot. You might be surprised. In my opinion, this is one of the most underappreciated movies of 2018, and it should not be missed.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page