top of page
  • Writer's pictureGarrett Wheeler

My Favorite Movies of the 2010s



We are well into the 2020s now, so I thought I would look back at some of my favorite films of the 2010s. This was the decade that got me into movies not just as a piece of entertainment, but as an art form. I owe a lot to this decade in that regard, so I feel like this list is necessary. Now remember: I haven't seen every movie. If I had, I would go insane. There will be some modern day classics that will not be on this list. Also, this is entirely my opinion. These are not the definitive best movies of the 2010s. These are simply the films that stuck with me the most throughout the decade for one reason or another. And this isn't even all of them. There are films I love that aren't on this list. I just wanted to talk about some of the films that have meant the most to me. And trust me, this list could change at anytime. But as of now, this is how I'm feeling. This list is in no particular order. Without further ado, let's go.


The Lighthouse

Release Date: November 1, 2019

Genre: Drama/Fantasy/Horror/Mystery

Director: Robert Eggers

Starring: Robert Pattinson & Willem DaFoe


The Lighthouse was my favorite film of 2019. I have never seen a film so absurd and so dark, all while knowing exactly what it is. This is a hilarious, scary, and genius horror comedy about obsession and lust, all while a power struggle between the two leads takes center stage. I love the imagery of the film, as every scene is shot in beautiful, disgusting, mesmerizing black and white with an aspect ratio so tight it's almost claustrophobic. The characters are writing are amazing, the performances are among the best I've ever seen and the way the story unfolds leads to my favorite ending to any movie ever. This film is a masterpiece.



Gravity

Release Date: October 4, 2013

Genre: Drama/Sci-Fi/Thriller

Director: Alfonso Cuaron

Starring: Sandra Bullock & George Clooney


Believe it or not, I owe a lot of my love for movies to Gravity. Gravity was the movie that made me fully appreciate the artistic merit of movies. The way this film was executed is mind boggling even after all these years. The special effects are some of the best ever put to film, and the way the camera and the actors move about the screen makes the emptiness of space truly come to life. The opening twenty minutes is still some of the best filmmaking I've ever seen. And though the dialogue is pretty mediocre, I will never forget the feeling this film gave me. It truly is a sight to behold, and I thank Cuaron for offering me such a life changing experience.



Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

Release Date: August 13, 2010

Genre: Action/Comedy/Fantasy

Director: Edgar Wright

Starring: Michael Cera & Mary Elizabeth Winstead


This movie is pretty genius. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World takes such an odd premise and creates so much style, comedy and visual awe. The battle sequences in this film are insane. They are full of so much life and color, and it is all fantastic to watch. The characters are highly entertaining, with gloriously awkward performances and chemistry. But the real star of the film is Edgar Wright's directing. The visual flair is perfectly executed through the cinematography and editing. I love everything about this film. It's one of those movies that you just can't get tired of.



The Way Way Back

Release Date: July 26, 2013

Genre: Comedy/Drama

Director: Nat Faxon & Jim Rash

Starring: Liam James, Steve Carrell, & Sam Rockwell


As of right now, this is probably my favorite indie film of all time. It all comes down to the characters and the writing. Everyone in this film feels so genuine and true to life, and they all were excellently performed. The biggest star of the film is Sam Rockwell, whose performance as Owen resulted in Rockwell becoming one of my favorite actors. I love the environment of the film, as the summer weather becomes so palpable with each passing scene. And the story of friendship and a toxic father/step-dad relationship is as heartbreaking as it is hilarious. Definitely check this one out, as I think it is severely underrated.


Mad Max: Fury Road

Release Date: May 15, 2015

Genre: Action/Adventure/ Sci-Fi

Director: George Miller

Starring: Tom Hardy & Charlize Theron


Mad Max: Fury Road is the best action film I've ever seen. The way George Miller directed and filmed the stunts is insane and I'm still amazed at how he was able to pull it off. This entire film runs on such a high octane insanity that very rarely ever lets up. It is intense. Each car crash, each gun shot and each punch is incredibly gratifying. Not to mention the film is gorgeous, the performances are solid and the visual storytelling is impeccable. But really, we're here for the action. And as of right now, I haven't seen any film top Fury Road in the action department.




Logan

Release Date: March 3, 2017

Genre: Action/Drama/Sci-Fi/Thriller

Director: James Mangold

Starring: Hugh Jackman & Patrick Stewart


Now we have the best comic book movie I've ever seen. This is the perfect closing chapter for Hugh Jackman's Wolverine. It's dark, gritty, brutal and sad, helmed by fantastic performances, amazing directing and a story that never loses interest. I love the way the story unfolds, and the tragedy that's executed throughout makes for some truly gut-wrenching moments. I enjoy comic book movies a lot, but as of late, most of them have started to become stale. Logan manages to stay away from that fear, as it stands as a mature, emotional, and fantastically executed trip. I love this film.



Whiplash

Release Date: October 10, 2014 (limited)

Genre: Drama/Music

Director: Damien Chazelle

Starring: Miles Teller & J.K. Simmons


As much as I love La La Land, Whiplash is truly something else. This film is a psychological horror without ever being a horror film. The mental battle between Terrence Fletcher and Andrew is as intense as it is exhilarating. You never know what will happen next and I love the film's unpredictability. The performances are all great, but J.K. Simmons truly shines with one of the best villain performances of all time. I love the story, the characters, the cinematography, the music... and THAT EDITING! Easily the best editing I've ever seen in a film. Without question.




Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Release Date: December 1, 2017

Genre: Comedy/Crime/Drama

Director: Martin McDonagh

Starring: Frances McDormand, Woody Harrelson, & Sam Rockwell


With one of my favorite scripts of all time, Three Billboards rises as a tour de force of storytelling. The characters are all fascinating to watch, and the themes of revenge, loss and police negligence and brutality are all wonderfully realized. The performances are some of the best I've ever seen, especially from Oscar winners Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell, and the way the film unravels gripped me from beginning to end. It's like a play put to film. And in this case, it is all the better for it.



Sing Street

Release Date: April 15, 2016 (limited)

Genre: Comedy/Drama/Music/Romance

Director: John Carney

Starring: Ferdia Walsh-Peelo, Jack Reynor, & Lucy Boynton


Sing Street is a fantastic date movie. Trust me, I speak from experience (wink wink). It has a delightfully touching and charming story with likable characters, a smart script and a collection of fantastic 80s style music. I still play songs like "Drive It Like You Stole It" and "Up" every once in a while. This is one of those films that just makes me feel happy and warm inside. It has the classic themes of "follow your dreams" and "stick it to the man," but it's done in a really enjoyable way. It's a lot of fun, and the fact that it was taken off of Netflix makes me really sad.



Roma

Release Date: November 21, 2018

Genre: Drama

Director: Alfonso Cuaron

Starring: Yalitza Aparicio


Few films gripped me in such an emotional way like Roma did. I found myself absorbed into the atmosphere, feeling as if I lived in Mexico right with the main characters. The film follows a maid as she takes care of her family for two hours. It sounds so simple, but it's a lot more complex than that. There's a miscarriage, a mass shooting, a forest fire, the falling apart of a marriage, a near death experience with the ocean and so much more. I found so much beauty in the way the story unfolded, as well as the phenomenal directing, gorgeous cinematography and the down to earth characters. Some won't like this because it's slow and meanders quite a bit. I, however, love every second of it.



Arrival

Release Date: November 11, 2016

Genre: Drama/Mystery/Sci-Fi/Thriller

Director: Denis Villeneuve

Starring: Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner, & Forest Whitaker


This movie blew my mind when I first saw it. The way the story unraveled was so enthralling, and the ending made me drop my jaw. And after seeing it a second time, all the nuances were so much clearer. Arrival is a smart, beautifully crafted sci-fi that manages to blow you away with its mystery on the first viewing and impress you with the beautiful visuals, grounded characters, captivating score and amazing directing on the second. It manages to be exciting, intense and thought provoking without a single action scene. This is probably my favorite sci-fi film of all time.




Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Release Date: December 14, 2018

Genre: Animation/Action/Adventure/

Family/Sci-Fi

Director: Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, & Rodney Rothman

Starring: Shameik Moore, Jake Johnson, & Hailee Steinfeld


This is my favorite animated film of the year. I love the animation. It's stylized, gorgeous, colorful... it's like a comic book in motion. The characters are all entertaining, the sense of humor is great, the action is exciting and the emotion is very strong. And the animation is beautiful. I know I mentioned that, but I feel like I have to reiterate it. Few films have given me the kind of pure, unadulterated joy that Spider-Verse has, and for that, I applaud this film.



And now, here are a list of honorable mentions. These aren't necessarily my favorites of the decade, but they are movies I love and deserve at least a mention. For this section, I will be ordering them by decade because I feel like it.


2010s

Inception

Toy Story 3

How to Train Your Dragon


2011

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

Moneyball

The Help

Warrior


2012

The Avengers

Moonrise Kingdom

The Dark Knight Rises


2013

Captain Phillips

The World's End

Pacific Rim

Saving Mr. Banks


2014

The Lego Movie

Birdman

The Grand Budapest Hotel

John Wick


2015

Inside Out

The Martian

The Revenant

Creed


2016

La La Land

Kubo and the Two Strings

Hell or High Water

Deadpool


2017

Baby Driver

The Big Sick

The Shape of Water


2018

Hereditary

Avengers: Infinity War

The Favourite

Eighth Grade


2019

Parasite

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood

Marriage Story



7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page