top of page
  • Writer's pictureGarrett Wheeler

My Favorite Songs of 2019



The following blog post contains language. Also, some of the songs themselves contain language. Read/listen at your own discretion.


Hey, remember when I talked about music all throughout 2019? I do. That was a time. Anyways, since I have extra time due to the rest of the semester being online thanks to Mr. Corona, I figure I'd publish this list that I've had on the backburner for a long time. These are my top 50 (yes, 50) songs of 2019. I organized this list in December of last year instead of making a December addition of my Top/Bottom 3 Songs of that month because I got sick of the series and wanted to just end it. So, I guess this is me ending it. But anyways, these are the songs that I loved listening to in 2019. Of course, these aren't all of them. There were a few songs that I loved that didn't make this list. To give you an idea, my Dope 2019 Songs playlist consists of 76 songs. Granted, some artists in the playlist show up more than once. For this list, I decided to only include one song per artist, with the exception of features and collaboration tracks.


A couple other things to keep in mind. One is that pretty much all of these are singles. If you're wanting to know why I didn't put any deep cuts here, it's because as a full time college student, and during the semester, I am usually very busy. So normally, I don't have time to listen to full albums. And I don't really feel like going back to the albums these songs appear on in the hopes of finding some quality deep cuts. So, if you don't like this... deal with it. Also, if the song was released in 2019, then it qualifies for this list. Some of these songs were released in 2019 only to appear on an album released in 2020. It's still a 2019 song in my book, so here it is. Anyways, that's enough stupid precursor stuff. Let's get this over with. If you want to listen to any of the songs here, just click the names of the song. Enjoy!



Personal, intimate, and full of beautiful emotion, this is the kind of music I wanted to hear from Lana all along.



This is one fantastic, soulful modern blues rock song with some amazing guitar solos to close out the track.



A perfect marriage of cute and depressing acoustic music.



One of the most uplifting rap songs you can find.



I'm not much for club music, but I would absolutely rave to this.



It's catchy in all the right ways.



This is the boss bitch anthem we all need right now.



The tone of the loop at the breakdown is so oddly warped, yet it adds so much badassery to the track and I absolutely love it.



I never expected such a release of aggressive energy from this band, but I am here for it.



I just really like the way Noname raps.



This is such an odd yet wonderful marriage of pop and nu metal. It's the perfect combination of fun, aggressive, scary, and adorable.



The word play of this song is INSANE. It is repetition used in the absolute best way.



This song has a really nice sound pallette. The distortion of the guitar makes the song sound very spacy and atmospheric, and it sounds great as a result.



What a gorgeously eerie gothic folk song. It sounds so creepy and atmospheric, yet serene and beautiful, making for an overall fantastic track.



This is a fantastic, powerful, emotional David Bowie-esque cover of a Waterboys song. It's one of the most passionate and gloriously happy covers of any song I've ever heard.



You're DAMN RIGHT they sampled a Tesla to make the beat for this track. And yes, it is an absolute BANGER!



This is one of the nicest and most soothing examples of disco revivalism you can find. It's all in the magic of the piano.



Now this is good old fashion German metal. Aggressive, menacing, and pulling no punches, Rammstein are back.



THIS SONG IS SO FREAKING CUTE! It's one of the most charming and likable country songs I've ever heard, and it puts a smile on my face every time I hear it.



This is the best bassline of the entire year. Not only that, but this song is an absolute earworm, and it's a perfect example of modern pop done right.



I'm not necessarily a fan of having panic attacks, but when they're caused by this song, I'm okay with them. Seriously, this song is INSANE. The string sample pierces like a knife and both slowthai and Denzel Curry are unhinged in the best way possible.



Here we have another example of a wonderful marriage between pop and nu metal. This song would fit perfectly in a 2000s spy film. The riff is great and Rina's voice is truly incredible.



I've never been a very big fan of Weezer, but this is very nice. It's a nice, calming display of sadness and melancholic understanding. It's gorgeous, triumphant, and stands as one of Weezer's best in recent memory.



In my opinion, this is better than all of the singles that came off of her album. I love the shimmering melody of the keyboards and the simple percussion in the background. This song shows a lot of maturity for the young artist, and I hope she continues down this path in the future.



This is how you make rock music sound fresh. The instrumentation propulses forward with such a unique sound. The vocals are great and the synth melodies spliced here and there are a very nice touch.



This is one of the most infectiously fun pop songs I've ever heard. Lizzo sounds like she's having the time of her life on this track and she sounds fantastic. It's a bop in every sense of the word.



Talk about saying a lot in such a short amount of time. The production is fantastic, using natural instrumentation to make a eerily dark atmosphere. And Denzel's rapping is the cherry on top.



Holy crap, what an EARWORM! It's catchy, fun, and full of personality. And the production, matched with Caroline's vocals, makes for one of the most pleasing pop songs you'll find.



Alter Bridge has a knack for making really heavy yet really triumphant sounding rock songs and this is no exception. It uses a great guitar riff and a nice synth melody in the background to add an air of menace. And Myles Kennedy's vocals are as on point as ever.



This is a standup comedy routine set to a really odd beat. Danny's nasally tone is full of charisma and his flow is on point. This is truly one of the most entertaining, self deprecating, and raunchy rap songs of 2019, and it's pretty fantastic.



No song in 2019 grew on me like this one. This is a lovely little piece of trap music with watery production, nice vocals, and a great rapped verse. I love the chorus to this song and I still find myself singing the hook. If more trap was like this song, then I would find myself drawn towards the genre a lot more.



I used to be huge into progressive rock and this song brings me right back to those days. Insanely intricate and technical instrumentation fills this eight minute track and it never dulls or gets boring. The vocals, while odd, are full of character and the brass section is a very nice touch. This song has a fantastic sound and it makes me get excited about prog all over again.



This right here is, without question, the most danceable song of the entire year. The percussion, the bass line, the synth passages... they all add to such a funky and enjoyable song. The vocals are full of so much personality and the chorus is fantastic. We all need to listen to this song when we feel like dancing.



Yes, this is indeed a fantastic driving song. The riff is great, the hook is infectious, the vocals are menacing, and the synths are as psychedelic as possible in the most beautiful way. This song sounds like a gothic update of stoner rock coming straight out of the 70s. It's easily the most fun rock song I listened to all year.



This song sounds twisted. The beat is so odd and off-kilter in the best way possible. Quelle Chris's flow is impeccable and his lyrics are both funny and disturbing. I had a difficult decision choosing which song of his to put on this list because I truly loved every single he released. However, this song is too much of a banger to not include.



I've been a fan of this group since they broke onto the scene in 2017, but even with their ballads, I have never heard them like this. This is a sad, mature track about sadness, searching for meaning, and being lost. Backed by a gorgeous acoustic guitar and full of fantastic verses and a great chorus from guest Deb Never, this track blows me away. Even if you aren't a fan of rap music, I can recommend this song as a fantastic piece of balladry.



This song absolutely OOZES passion. DRAM'S and H.E.R.'s vocals, the instrumentation, and the lyrics all culminate into a beautiful, sultry ballad not about sex, but about making LOVE. The sexiest part of the song, though, is that guitar solo from WATT. I love literally every aspect of this song.



I never knew I wanted a trash metal song about protecting the environment in my life, but now that I got it, I'm not complaining. But in all seriousness, this song is wild. I love the fuzzed out riff, the galloping drums, and the strained, raspy vocals. The fact that this band is just now going in this direction on their 15th album is pretty amazing.



Marc Rebillet is the master of loops. The way he builds these loops of synths and percussions on top of each other is amazing, and the fact that it's all improvised is mind blowing. On top of that, his vocals are full of so much unflinching passion. Even though his stage persona is completely ridiculous, you can tell that this is a man that cares about the craft, and he's having a blast crafting his music too.



A rap song about proper family values doesn't have to go THIS hard. The production slaps and Denzel's flow is fantastic throughout. He has total command over the entire track and his performance in this song cements him as one of the best rappers working today. Also, the "stop the track bring the back" moment is the single greatest moment in rap music of the entire year.



I liked this song ever since it was released, but at some point in December, something about this song just clicked. I'm not entirely sure what it is, but I absolutely adore this song now. The instrumentation is full of life and joy while the lyrics cut deep. The line "I don't wanna live like this but I don't wanna die" hits me where I live. It is such an impactful line. In fact, I think this song is one of the most lyrically well written songs I heard all year. This really is a gorgeous piece of indie rock.



This is one of the most gratifying slowburns of the entire year. It starts off so quiet and serene only to build into a soaring chorus of longing. Then it slows down again, readying itself for an even bigger and grander build. The strings start to swell ready for something big, but then it quiets down again, letting the string take over the rest of the instrumentation. The strings take on a darker tone as Angel Olsen chants "dream on," amping up the intensity. And then... the climax. In an explosion of distorted guitars, a haunting score, and Olsen's wailing, this song ends in the most emotionally captivating and epic way possible. It's a musical experience that captures me from beginning to end.



When you listen to this song, you will notice how... off the entire track is. The guitars use a lot of half steps and the strings are deliberately out of tune. The vocals are harsh and unhinged to the point of sounding deranged at points. The lyrics describe a kind of loneliness that sounds almost psychotic. The distortion is fuzzed the hell out. And the guitar solo is wild. The entire song is an uncomfortable experience. However, it is also an amazing piece of post punk. It's twisted, weird and incredibly offputting, but the writing, the pacing and the musicianship are all incredible. And like the song before, the musical climax is incredible. This song might take you multiple listens to get into, as it did me, but it's absolutely worth it. It's one of the most unforgettable musical experiences I've ever had.



This. Song. Is. Gorgeous. My goodness. I have never heard a song like this before. The synth arpeggios, Natalie's soulful voice, the atmospheric sounds in the background... I could gush about the sound palette of this song all day. It's the kind of sound that envelopes your entire body like an ocean. I can't help but feel like I'm floating in an abyss while I listen to this. But I don't feel like I'm drowning. I'm calm; content, even. It encapsulates the feeling of floating in bliss so beautifully. And when the skittering violins come in, the song builds to this gorgeous release of energy in its climax. What can I say? I love a good climax. That's what she said. But in all seriousness, this is one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard in my life, and the fact that this is only number seven is kind of ridiculous.



If you like soul, then this is a must listen. It doesn't get much more soulful than this. I love the production and the use of natural instrumentation to create this lively and romantic atmosphere. The string sample is a very nice touch and the use keyboards and guitars are beautiful. Anderson .Paak continues to be one of the most charismatic and talented performers working today. His vocals are gorgeous, and the subtle rasp in his voice sounds very nice. Everything about this song is just nice. It is a wonderful, joyful display of R&B. This song makes loving someone romantically sound like the best thing ever. And it also makes me want to strive to find love of my own. On that note, I am single, ladies. Don't worry, I'm joking (kinda). But yeah, this song is amazing and it's a perfect display of passion elevating a song as high as possible.



In my opinion, this is the most overlooked and underrated song of the entire year. It is also the most original rock song I've heard in a while. The way it crosses genres to make its sound is amazing. It incorporates elements of rock, alternative, electronica, pop, metalcore, and smooth jazz (yes, smooth jazz) into a tight two minutes and fifty seconds. With all these influences, this song should be an absolute mess but it's not. It's absolutely gorgeous. The production is flawless, the vocals are great, the chorus is catchy, and the surprise saxophone solo is a fantastic touch. Bilmuri is one of those bands that is so unique and so different that it's a crime how underrated they are. Seriously, listen to this song. I think it is the best rock song to come out of 2019.



This was the first song I heard in 2019 that I fell in love with. It perfectly captures despondency and dejection with such a simple yet beautiful melody. The tone of the guitars sound great, and the notes create such a serene atmosphere. I love the use of harmonics during the intro and the outro. The way they coexist with the rest of the notes make for some beautiful musicianship. The vocals are subtle yet they match the atmosphere very well. Mike Kinsella's and Hayley William's singing compliment each other perfectly. The song tackles depression in such a mature and emotionally impactful way. This is one of those songs that I can never picture myself getting tired of. It's simple yet so effective. If you like yourself some sad music, then this should 100% be on your radar. Fantastic stuff.



That groove though. Seriously, the groove of this song is amazing. The simple drum beat and the minimalist piano chords have created the foundation of a fantastic beat. And once the verse kicks in with the bass line, the moments of synths, the string swells, and the background vocals, the song evolves into an absolute bop. Little Simz's flow is fantastic. She's incredibly understated yet coasts on the beat like its easy. Her message of self love is very potent and well executed. But in my opinion, the best part of the song is the chorus. This is the best chorus of 2019. Cleo Sol's falsetto is gorgeous, the lyrics are catchy, and the melody itself is very well executed. The way she sings "I'm so selfish" in particular is an absolute earworm. This was one of the first rap songs of the year that truly blew me away. It actually made me listen to the entire album, which I don't normally do. Now it's one of my favorite rap albums. Listen to this song then go and listen to the entire "Grey Area" album. You won't regret it.



My favorite rap song of the year also happens to be easily the most aggressive of the entire year. This beat is heavy. It is a very bassy, heavily distorted production, with samples of string stings in the background. The percussion adds to the menace of the track, where each hit of a bass drum or a cymbal sample sounds incredibly industrial, almost as if they were sampled from a machine. I also love how with each verse, the production subtly changes, building the overall anxiety of the track. Plus the chorus is insane. The primal drums and the children chant samples make for such an odd piece of music but it makes the horror theme of the entire track all the more potent. However, the real star of the song is Thomas Jefferson himself, Daveed Diggs. Daveed Diggs gives one of the best rap performances I've ever heard in my entire life. His flow is so fast, giving so many words of graphic and grisly murder, each one perfectly anunciated. During the third verse, he only breathes like six times while spitting well over one hundred words. It is insane. This song hits you in the face with the aggression and you can't help but feel so impressed and scared at the same time. This song is a banger, and it's definitely the best rap song of 2019.



No song in 2019 impacted me the way this song did. When I first heard this song, I teared up. Listening to it again all these months later as I type this, I teared up again. This is one of those songs that stops me in my tracks anytime I hear it. With each listen, I have to sit back and recover just to properly process the emotions hearing this gives me. I find myself drawn more towards music that conveys passionate emotion, and this is that mission at its best. In terms of instrumentation, there isn't a lot here. For the most part, it's piano and vocals with swells of synths brought in later. There is also a subtle kick drum and some mouth percussion adding to the overall heartbroken atmosphere. The musicianship is very subtle, but it's intimate, it's personal, it's raw. The best way I can describe this song is raw. That feeling especially comes across in Tahliah's vocals. Her voice is so quiet yet full of so much passion. When she starts belting, her voice is cracking and wheezing, almost as if she's releasing the hurt she feels inside. It's heavy. And while the ending of the song is rather anticlimactic, I think it does exactly what it needs to do. It doesn't give you that release. It lets you sit there with that feeling of heartbreak and it tells you that it isn't something that can be released. Specific choices like that make me appreciate the artistry of this song so much. While I can't bring myself to listen to this song that often, anytime I hear it, I have to focus. I can't be doing anything else other than listening to this song. And all of these reasons and more are why "Cellophane" by FKA Twigs is my favorite song of 2019.



17 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page