top of page
  • Writer's pictureGarrett Wheeler

Songs I'm Listening To (part two)


I own none of the songs or videos listed in this blog.

If you want to see part one, click here. Here are five more songs that I really like.


1. "25" by Fieh

Album: 25- Single (2018)


I have absolutely no idea how I came across this song. I know that I was clicking on random YouTube videos, but what lead me to this song is a mystery. That being said, this song is amazing. The music is a mixture of R&B, soul, funk, and a little bit of jazz. It starts off with a deep, funky bass that leads right into the main melody of the song. From there, a gorgeous keyboard and a grooving drum beat come in and give the song a nice drive. There are these funky distorted synth sounds that come in periodically throughout the song that add a lot of flavor to the sound palette. However, the true standout of the track is the vocals. I have no idea who she is, but I love her voice. She has a very distinct Norwegian accent, and the tone of her voice is smooth, slightly raspy, and 100% sultry. Plus, the refrains of "I am on it, baby" and "and you know" that are repeated in the song are so infectious. I can't help but groove along. It's a total bop, and you should check it out. I hope this song takes them to big places.


2. "The Hounds" by The Protomen

Album: Act II- The Father of Death (2009)


Have you ever wondered what the Mega Man videogame series would be like if it were a rock opera? Well, look no further! The Protomen tell a retelling of the Mega Man story as such, and it's pretty rad. "The Hounds" comes on their second album in this continuous story, and it's probably my favorite from the band. The guitar riff has an amazing groove, the drums have a great swing to them, and the brass ensemble that comes in during the chorus are incredible, giving so much power to the music. Vocalist Raul Panther III, taking the character of Dr. Wiley in this song, has a lot of personality to his vocals, and his lyrics have an interesting character dynamic to them. In the song, he's framing Dr. Light for murder. It's such an interesting concept, and it's told in such an upbeat, jazzy, and excellently crafted manner. And that guitar solo! Probably the best part of the song. In my opinion, it's one of the most overlooked guitar solos of all time. The Protomen are a great band that don't get the credit they deserve, and "The Hounds" is a prime example why. And I'm still waiting for Act 3! It's been almost a decade.


3. "Summer Romance" by Incubus

Album: S.C.I.E.N.C.E. (1997)


Here's my favorite cut from one of my favorite albums of all time. On S.C.I.E.N.C.E., Incubus wonderfully crafts a mixture of nu-metal and funk. The clash of genres can be jarring, but since there is so much character and energy to these songs, I don't mind. "Summer Romance" is the only song on this album that is purely funk, and I absolutely love it. The guitar riff is infectious and meshes so well with the bass, the drums, and the bongos (yes, this song has both.) Brandon Boyd's vocals are gorgeous as always, but here, his delivery matches more than ever. As much as I love his vocals, there are some songs where his singing voice doesn't suit the music they play, specifically the heavier stuff. With this song, they are as smooth as butter, and it works to the song's benefit. However, for me, the show-stealer is the saxophone solo. It's one of the most overlooked sax solos ever, in my opinion. I don't want to give too much away, but it works so well. "Summer Romance" is my favorite song by this band, and it's one of those few songs that I can listen to multiple times in a row without getting tired of it.


4. "Day Old Hate" by City and Colour

Album: Sometimes (2005)


If you were to ask me what my favorite acoustic album is, I would tell you Sometimes by City and Colour, and I would list "Day Old Hate" as my favorite song in the track list. The only instruments in this song are acoustic guitar and subtle piano, and it's some of the most gorgeous instrumentation I've ever heard. The guitar sounds so crisp and clean, and the melody has a beautiful build with the notes it plays. The piano is minimalist, but it adds a lot of emotion to the music. Dallas Green's vocals are vulnerable yet powerful, and the lyrics are full of loneliness, sadness, and a longing for a connection that's not there. I interpret "Day Old Hate" as a breakup song, and it's one of the most beautiful break up songs I've ever heard. This is one of my favorite songs of all time, possibly in my top ten.


5. "Drive It Like You Stole It" by Sing Street

Movie: Sing Street (2016)


My final pick for this addition comes from what it is, in my opinion, the most overlooked movie of the decade- Sing Street. The song in question, "Drive It Like You Stole It," is a blast of an 80s throwback tune, similar to the stylings of Hall and Oates. It has a great groove to it, with punchy drums, buzzing synths, jiving guitars, and a slick saxophone solos. The vocals have a lot of personality and charm to them, and the lyrics are instantly catchy. The chorus is the big selling point of the song. Every time I hear it, I can't help but sing along and dance. I don't have a lot to say about this one. It's really good. Listen to this song. And while you're at it, watch Sing Street. This movie is fantastic. You can watch it right now on Netflix.


Thank you for reading! Part three will be coming soon.

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page