top of page
  • Writer's pictureGarrett Wheeler

Top 20 Songs of 2018 (#s 20-11)



I don't talk about music that often because I am not a music critic, but I do listen to a lot of music. And while 2018 certainly had a cesspool of crap when it came to music, there were also a lot of really good songs. That's what I want to focus on. Here are my top 20 favorite songs of 2018. This is part one, which has my 20th favorite song through my 11th favorite. I'm dividing up the list because I don't want to write an article that will take twenty minutes to read. I'm doing this for you. Love me.


Keep in mind: I have not listened to everything in the year. If I did, I would have no life. As a result, there is a lot of music that I have not listened to. If there's a song you love that didn't make it onto the list, most likely, I have not heard it. These are just the songs that stuck with me throughout the year. Also, this is entirely my opinion. Your list will be vastly different than mine. You might hate some of the songs I like. That's totally fine. I'm just here to have fun and talk about music.


If you want to know the rules I placed on myself, as well as the great songs of 2018 that didn't quite make the cut, click here. With that said, here are my top 20 songs of the year... numbers 20 through 11.


20. "G.O.A.T." by Polyphia

Album: New Levels New Devils

Genre: Instrumental Progressive Art Rock


I am a huge fan of instrumental music, especially when there's emphasis on the guitar. Polyphia plays this kind of music, but with their own twist to it. Their album as a whole is great, but the closing song "G.O.A.T" stands out with highly intricate and technical guitars, bass, and drums. The music passages are so complex and wild that it's kind of mind blowing how they even play it. Plus, there is a little bit of both hip-hop and samba instrumentation in this as well. It's such a weird barrage of sounds, but it comes together beautifully. If you like instrumental music, especially if it focuses on technicality and precision, then I highly suggest you check this out.


19. "Lifetime" by Yves Tumor

Album: Safe in the Hands of Love

Genre: Alternative


This song has some of the most captivating drumming I've heard all year. The drum beat is fantastic, and it contrasts so wonderfully with the swelling and slowly building instrumentation. It uses pianos, strings, horns, and synths to create a sonic palette that makes you want to lay back, close your eyes, and experience the music. And while the vocals might be off-putting for some because of how strange and repetitive they are, I think it works because it helps build an ethereal vibe to the song. "Lifetime" is gorgeous because of the subtlety and ambiance it contains. It won't be for everyone, but I suggest you check it out. It's one of the most beautiful songs of the year in my opinion.


18. "The Pot" by Brass Against

Album: n/a

Genre: Progressive Jazz Metal


Now, some of you might be thinking "wait, isn't this a Tool song?" That's what I thought when I first heard this on the radio and realized it sounded different. Brass Against is a jazz ensemble that covers metal songs, ranging from Rage Against the Machine to Black Sabbath to, in this case, Tool. It's such a unique concept for a band, and I think it works very well here. The intricacies of the riffs translate so well to the horns, and the guitarist among the ensemble gives the song a perfect edge. I almost prefer this cover to the original version, it's that good. I can't really describe without going into deep detail of the original song, which I do not have the time for. To sum it up: it's the same as the original except with horns, and it's awesome.


17. "Fireworks" by First Aid Kit

Album: Ruins

Genre: Indie Folk


This is the modern slow dance song society needs right now. The piano melody is beautiful, the guitar arpeggio at the chorus is fantastic, and the voices of Johanna and Klara Soderberg are absolutely gorgeous. I love how the emotion builds towards the end, and hearing those swelling strings glide over the chorus is so pleasing. This is the song that made me check out the album, and while I was tempted to put the opening song "Rebel Heart" on here, "Fireworks" continued to win me over on every listen. It was the first song of the year that I adored, and I will continue to adore it in the near future.


16. "When I Get Older" by Bill Wurtz

Album: n/a

Genre: Jazz Synth Pop


If you've seen the video history of the entire world, I guess, then you know who Bill Wurtz is. Besides making weird and hilarious animated videos, he also makes music, and it's delightful. He released a lot of songs this year, but "When I Get Older" is my favorite. It's groovy, funky, funny, and weirdly philosophical. Bill Wurtz has a knack for making you think while spouting absolute nonsense. This song is just plain delightful. Listen to this song and then listen to all of his other stuff. Start with this, then go to "I'm Crazy/It's Raining," "La Dee Da Dee Da Dee Da Dee Day Oh," and "Mt. St. Helen's is About to Blow Up." You won't regret it.


15. "Bubblin'" by Anderson .Paak

Album: n/a

Genre: Hip Hop


As much as I enjoyed his album Oxnard, the non-album single "Bubblin'" is by far my favorite thing he released this year. This song is the epitome of a banger. The beat is fantastic, with a booming bass and strings that remind me of a dark comic book movie. Anderson .Paak's flow is incredibly energetic and charismatic. His bars are hilarious, smart, and so entertaining to listen to. I'm sad that this never made it onto the album. It's fantastic, and the music video is pretty amazing to.


14. "Need a Little Time" by Courtney Barnett

Album: Tell Me How You Really Feel

Genre: Indie Rock

"Nameless, Faceless" was also in contention, but I had to choose "Need a Little Time." It's simple, yet executed so beautifully. The guitars are beautiful, and Courtney's almost monotone vocals are quite soothing and add a lot of character to the song. The verses and the chorus are a perfect match, and the way they lead into each other is musical bliss. And the guitar solos, while simple, are quite pleasing to the ear. This is just a really solid indie rock tune. It's one of my most replayed of the year. Just ignore how weird the music video is.


13. "I'll Make You Sorry" by Screaming Females

Album: All At Once

Genre: Alternative Rock


This song might have my favorite guitar riff of the year. It kicks off each verse, and it's perfect. The vocals are odd, but are so nice to listen to. She has a strange timbre in her voice that's hard to describe, but it gives the song such a great edge. However, the best aspect of this song is, without question, the chorus. It's so simple, repeating the words "I once was in love before I knew, but I've given up." However, the way it's sung, combined with the guitar passage, is so charming. I'm never upset when I get this song stuck in my head. There's a punk attitude to this song that I appreciate a lot. It's one of the more overlooked songs of the year, so check it out.


12. "25" by Fieh

Album: n/a

Genre: R&B


There is one word that I can describe this song: sexy. The bass, the keyboards, and the funky synth riff in the latter half of the chorus is all sexy. Plus, the lead singer has such a unique voice. It's incredibly smooth and it gels with the music incredibly well. The song is incredibly groovy, with the repetition of the phrase "and you know" in the chorus being a highlight of the song for me. The vibe is beautiful, and I cannot stop listening to it. Plus, the jazzy guitar solo at the tail end of the track is fantastic. I hope this group puts out an album soon. I would listen to the whole thing multiple times if its of this quality.


11. "SLOW DANCING IN THE DARK" by Joji

Album: Ballads 1

Genre: R&B


I've been somewhat mixed on Joji's music in the past. I liked the vibe it had, but that's all it was: a vibe. "Slow Dancing in the Dark" is easily his most fully realized song yet. The production is absolutely gorgeous. The synths and keyboards are so melancholic, yet completely relaxing, serene, and pretty. The way the instrumentation builds in the chorus is fantastic, and the way it explodes at the end makes for the best part of the song. And Joji gives his most impassioned vocals on any song he's ever done. This song is a better and sadder version of a Post Malone song. It's a gorgeous ballad, and I hope Joji can take this sound and further it in his future albums, because this is fantastic.


Stay tuned for my top ten songs of 2018!

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page